Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Nov 13

World Press Photo Contest 2023

November 13, 2022 - January 10, 2023

2022 Contest Anonymous For The New York Times Thumbnail Large
The annual World Press Photo Contest recognizes and celebrates the best photojournalism and documentary photography produced over the last year. Enter your work for free and you could win €1,000 as a regional winner and an additional €5,000 as a global winner, have your work showcased to a global audience, and more.
Entries for the 2023 World Press Photo Contest will open on 1 December 2022 and close on 10 January 2023. We are excited to welcome a multiplicity of stories and a diverse range of photographers from all over the world to enter the contest!


The 2023 World Press Photo Contest works with 6 worldwide regions – Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America, South America, and Southeast Asia and Oceania. Entries will be judged in the region in which they have been taken, for example a single photograph taken in Canada would be entered into North and Central America in the Singles category. Find out more about the regions here.

Each region has four format-based categories: Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects and Open Format.
These categories welcome entries that witness or document news moments, events and/or aftermaths, as well as social, political and environmental issues or solutions.

These format-based categories encompass all thematic categories from previous contests – such as general news, spot news, contemporary issues, environment, nature, sports, portraits – therefore entries on a wide range of themes may be submitted to the appropriate format-based category.


  • Single frame photographs.
  • All singles must have been shot in 2022.
  • All singles will be eligible for the World Press Photo of the Year.


  • Stories can contain between 4 and 10 single frame photographs.
  • All photographs entered into the stories category must have been shot in 2021 or 2022. At least four photographs in a story must have been shot in 2022.
  • All stories will be eligible for the World Press Story of the Year.

Long-Term Projects

  • Projects on a single theme containing between 24-30 single frame photographs.
  • An entry must contain photographs from at least three different years, and a minimum of six photographs must have been shot in 2022.
  • All projects will be eligible for the World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award.


World Press Photo Contest 2023 is open worldwide to all professional photographers working in the field of photojournalism and/or documentary photography. Team entries of two or more photographers are allowed. Proof of professional status must be provided for each team member.



The 24 regional winners will be awarded, one per categor. Each of the winners will receive 1,000 EUR. The 4 global winners will receive an additional 5,000 EUR.


Entry fees

There is no entry fee to participate!


November 13, 2022
January 10
Event Categories:
, ,


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please select listing to show.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *